Twitter Chat

Standard

So one of my assignments for class was participate in a Twitter Chat, and let me tell you it is not as easy as you would think.

First you have to figure what a Twitter Chat is. Apparently, a Twitter Chat is tweeting about the same subject using hashtags (#), which are already kind of confusing. After you figure what a Twitter Chat is you have to find one. Luckily for my class we had several twitter chats that we could participate in. Of course, I forgot or was busy during the chats. Nevertheless Alan provided the class with a Twitter Chat Schedule and a website that ‘hosted’ Twitter Chats.

I used the last website to find my chat ‘room.’ I choose to chat about Mad Men, which is my new favorite show, because I loved the show and wanted to talk about the new episode from last Sunday. It was a challenge, to say the least.

The thing is I still haven’t gotten used to Twitter. I really like it and I’m super glad I have one. It’s a great way for me to have instant updates on the news (by following @nytimes and @huffingtonPost), social media type information (@mashable), to just plain old stalking. BUT I’m still shaky on how to use it.

This Twitter Chat helped some. I now have a better idea of what the hashtag does and how to use it. Ultimately I realized that I have to work a little harder if I want to put Twitter down as skills on my résumé.

Follow me on Twitter at @MichaelaW1123

Michaela! 🙂

Leave a comment